Call for papers


We kindly invite you to publish in Metatheoria. Journal of Philosophy and History of Science (

Metatheoria is an open access scientific journal issued by the Graduate Program in Philosophy and History of Science of the National University of Tres de Febrero (UNTREF) and the Center of Studies in Philosophy and History of Science (CEFHIC) of the National University of Quilmes (UNQ).

Metatheoria publishes manuscripts in the field of Philosophy of Science―including not only systematic, synchronic, and formal Philosophy of Science, but also historical, diachronic approaches to the field as well as Historical Epistemology, or History of Science from a philosophical point of view―in Spanish, English and Portuguese.

Metatheoria appears twice a year on April and October.

Metatheoria does not charge fees for submitting, processing, publishing or reading manuscripts.

Metatheoria is indexed and catalogued in: Scopus, EBSCOHost, MIAR, Latindex Catálogo 2.0, Philosopher's Index, PhilPapers, RIDAA, ROAD, Crossref, Dialnet, REDIB.

The Editors-in-Chief of the journal are: César Lorenzano (Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero, Argentina) and Pablo Lorenzano (Universidad Nacional de Quilmes/CONICET, Argentina).

The Advisory Editorial Board is constituted by Evandro Agazzi (University of Genoa, Italy), Nancy Cartwright (London School of Economics & University of California in San Diego, United Kingdom & United States of America), Newton da Costa (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil), Javier Echeverría (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Spain), Steven French (University of Leeds, United Kingdom), Jean Gayon (Université de Paris, France), Larry Laudan (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico), Rachel Laudan (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico), C. Ulises Moulines (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany), Michel Paty (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique & Université de Paris, France), Hans-Jörg Rheinberger (Max-Planck Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Germany), Merrilee Salmon (University of Pittsburgh, United States of America), Roberto Torretti (Universidad de Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico), Bas van Fraassen (San Francisco State University, United States of America).

We invite you to submit works for publication in Metatheoria either to the email address of the Editorial Secretariat (in charge of Cláudio Abreu, Karina Alleva, Yefrin Ariza, Federico Nahuel Bernabé, Lucía Federico, Matías Daniel Giri, Sonia López Hanna, Mercedes O’Lery):, or electronically through the website of the Journal:, where can be consulted the requirements for sending of works.